Sunday at around 13h00 is a very bad time to go swimming at Mon Repos.

Two lanes are reserved for clubs/schools and so there’s only one open lane if you want to swim back and forth in an organized manner. Unfortunately, it was rather full (6-7) people and, worst of all, there were two really, really slow swimmers, who would not let you pass, when it came to turning.

Now I’m already a very slow swimmer and I can happily swim at pace of 30 minutes per km without feeling any need to speed up (though this is also slow by my standard). But these people really managed to swim at a pace of about 45 minutes per km. I don’t know how they did it. At this pace my feet automatically sink to the bottom.

Usually, slower swimmers wait at the end of the lane for about 3 seconds to let others pass while turning around. That’s certainly what I do all the time, whenever there’s a more ambitious swimmer on my lane. But oh no, not these two ladies. They sure enough did not seem in a hurry, but they would not waste a single second when it came to turning around.

Anyways, in the end I had to do some sort of interval training. Whenever there was a gap opening up for me to pass, I sprinted past them and swam “fast” (by my standard) until I bumped into the feet of another lady. Then I had to tread water until I could pass again. Really stressful and unpleasant. It wasn’t even enjoyable to look at them from behind in the water.

Punchline: Avoid the Mon Repos swimming pool on Sundays between 13h00 and 14h00.

