And it’s from yourself.

Last Tuesday it was April Fool’s Day. Being a geek and at all, I sent messages with fake “from” headers to two of my colleagues. In both cases the sender was the recipient.

As in once case I had misspelled the last name in the same as in an earlier message, the recipient could easily identify the source of this prank. So then I got a message “from” my boss saying how disappointed she was by me that I abused EPFL resources and how I should be a role model for the PhD students. 🙂

Fortunately, my boss does not use the official EPFL address but her gmail address to send messages, so I could also easily identify the message as a prank messages. Additionally, the full email header revealed the use of an usual smtp server hosted by xult.org.

Anyways, the take-home message is:

1. You should never trust the “from” header (or any header) in an email you receive.

2. You can easily send fake messages (e.g., from “president@whitehouse.gov”) to friends of yours using this website.

