About two years ago there was a talk in Saarbrücken on “Buddhism and Love”. The punchline (in my own understanding) was this: You cannot be good to yourself without being good to others. And to be truly happy you must learn to love all other beings.

[I was reminded of this when I recently bought myself a book in French with 365 quotes by the current Dalai Lama.]

The speaker made it explicitly clear that (in his understanding) love in “Buddhism” (… I forgot what Buddhist school the speaker was from …) is not a goal in itself, but is only the means to a goal. You love to be happy yourself.

This is different from (my understanding of) the Christian philosophy, with the famous quote “love thy neighbor as yourself“.
“‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.” Matthew 22:36-40

[ Cool! My first bible quote in my blog ever! 🙂 ]

I, personally, somehow prefer “love to be happy” over “love or go to hell”/”love because someone tells you to”.

