For the last 10 years I’ve always found some excuse not to give blood. Often I was too busy or I thought I’d have to interrupt my training for 1-2 days or I thought that if I had spent four years in Great Britain they would not want my blood anyways (due to the Creutzfeld-Jakob disease). [Actually, there was a question about this on the questionnaire but it only asked if I had spent more than 6 months in the UK between 1980 and 1996, which I didn’t.]

But, if the mountain won’t come to Muhammed, Muhammed will go to the mountain. [This saying seems to be used with a different meaning in my family. Mostly referring to my mother coming to visit me. 😉 ] So the Red Cross (in collaboration with a local partner organization) came to EPFL to collect blood today (and yesterday).

I have to admit that I was quite tense on that chair, while I was being drained, but overall it was pretty quick and painless.

Every time I see an announcement asking people to donate blood, I have to think of a former colleague of mine (Tim Voss) with whom I did my “civilian service” (Zivildienst). He had gotten into a serious car accident a few years earlier and he was always grateful for the blood he had received. Needless to say that he considered it his obligation to donate blood on a regular basis.

