Yesterday, there was the “Nuit des Musées” here in Lausanne. As the name suggests, the museums were open until 2am. I just had two items on my list: The “Espace des Inventions” and the “Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts“.

The Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts is currently still hosting an exhibition by the Chilean artist Alfredo Jaar (who surprisingly does not have a Wikipedia entry). Don’t get me wrong: I’m really ignorant when it comes to the history of art or the knowledge of contemporary artists, but there are lots of posters for this exhibition all over Lausanne. Here‘s a picture of one such specimen. Any clever political/philosophical art I certainly find appealing.

I must say that overall I was really impressed by the creativity of the things on display. Everything had a certain “aha”-effect which took a few seconds to settle in. E.g., there was a video of a clarinet player in an empty room who just makes random (and not very pleasing noises). At first I just thought “That’s pretty stupid!”. But then I realized that next to the video screen, in a not very prominent spot, there was a photograph of the same clarinet player in uniform and playing behind two soldiers which were taking cover in what appeared to be a civil war in South America. This changed my whole perspective on the video.

Most of his pieces of art had a political message and often pointed out the inhumane side of capitalism or the Western ignorance with respect to global problems in the world. The past projects on his homepage also look absolutely fascinating. I hope I’ll have a chance to see more of his work in the future.

