20 million people have been left homeless by this year’s monsoon in South East Asia. I simply cannot imagine disasters of this scale. Somehow my brain is lacking enough related sensory experience to construct a “feeling” or a true understanding of what this means.

Of course, “rationally” I understand the meaning and could give definitions, but I still feel inapt to grasp the whole image. I also know that I will cease to exist, probably in a few decades, but this concept is also far more abstract to me than the fact that 11 is a prime number.

I guess, evolutionary speaking it could be a feature (rather than a bug). Genes which would allow you to truly understand things such as the vastness of space, your own impermanence, or the suffering in the world, would probably drive you “mad”.

